Anesth Pain Med Search


Anesth Pain Med > Volume 18(1); 2023 > Article
Kim and Kang: Messages from the new Editor-in-Chief and Editorial Board, journal metrics and statistics, and appreciation to reviewers
We are honored to serve as the Editor-in-Chief and Editorial Board of Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (APM). The editorial staff will continue to be committed to the success of this outstanding journal.
APM has made noteworthy advancements, gained recognition, and improved its position as an international publication in the field of anesthesiology, including perioperative management, critical care, and pain. We sincerely thank the previous editor-in-chief, Young-Cheol Woo, and the former editorial boards for their passion, vision, and commitment to the journal, which made the growth possible on behalf of the community.
Our main goals for APM in the coming years are to a) raise its profile in the clinical and research community and advance its position toward the top journal in this area; b) keep searching for and publishing excellent reviews and original articles that offer the most up-to-date clinical and research information; c) maintain the quality, standard, and transparency of our editorial and review process while fast-tracking the actual response time to submissions; and d) strengthen the regional and global network to better meet the needs of our society and the scientific community.
To accomplish these goals, the APM editorial team will actively seek the most recent and intriguing research papers and communicate with the members of the Korean Society of Anesthesiologists, subsocieties of the Korean Society of Anesthesiologists, and other global scholars in this field.


APM was first indexed in the Korean Citation Index in 2015 and in PubMed Central in December 2020. The annual number of submitted articles is approximately 200 to 300, and the number of submissions from foreign countries has increased dramatically since 2020. Detailed descriptions of the authors' countries for 2021 and 2022 are presented in Fig. 1. The number of countries that submitted articles to APM increased from 11 to 17.
APM articles published in 2020 and 2021 are cited 103 times by Web of Science articles published in 2022 (Data origin: Last accessed: 2023 Jan 5). The total number of original articles and reviews in 2020 and 2021 were 48 and 32, respectively. The manually calculated impact factor for 2022 in the Web of Science is 1.288 (103/[48+32]).
APM has progressed to publish 11 high-quality reviews, 29 original articles, and 25 other items, including case reports, letters to the editor, and a corrigendum in 2022.


The APM editorial team owes tremendous gratitude to the reviewers, who willingly commit their time to reviewing manuscripts. Their contributions are crucial for preserving the quality of the journal.
The names of the reviewers are listed below. The list is in alphabetical order of the family names.
Eun-Jin Ahn
Jiyoun Bang
Hee-Jung Baik
Sung Hye Byun
Yun Jeong Chae
Hae Wone Chang
Jang-eun Cho
Jin Sun Cho
Sooyoung Cho
Sung-Ae Cho
Byung Moon Choi
Jae Moon Choi
Jun Gwon Choi
So Ron Choi
Sung-uk Choi
Seung Ho Choi
Yong Seon Choi
Yoon Ji Choi
Chan Jong Chung
Kum-Hee Chung
Yang-Hoon Chung
Woosuk Chung
Sang-Hwan Do
Wangseok Do
Mijeung Gwak
Sangbin Han
Boohwi Hong
Sung Mi Hwang
Chi-bum In
Junyong In
Ji Seon Jeong
Seongtae Jeong
Dae Hyun Jo
Youn Yi Jo
Young Seok Jee
Hae-sun Jung
Hoon Jung
Ki Tae Jung
Hyun Kang
Seong Sik Kang
Woon Seok Kang
Jae Chul Koh
Won Uk Koh
Yu gyeong Kong
Chan-Sik Kim
Dal-ah Kim
Doo-Hwan Kim
Doo Sik Kim
Doyeon Kim
Eun-hee Kim
Eunsoo Kim
Gunn Hee Kim
Ha-yeon Kim
Hee-Yeong Kim
Hee Young Kim
Hye Young Kim
Hyungtae Kim
Jae hun Kim
Jin-Tae Kim
Jong-Yeop Kim
Ji-Yoon Kim
Jong Hae Kim
Jung Eun Kim
Jun Hyun Kim
Kye-Min Kim
Kyu Nam Kim
Kyung-Hoon Kim
Kyoung Ok Kim
Min-kyoung Kim
Min-soo Kim
Mun Gyu Kim
Na Young Kim
Saeyoung Kim
Sang Hun Kim
Sang Tae Kim
Seok-Kon Kim
Seong-Hyop Kim
Shin Hyung Kim
Won-joong Kim
Wook Jong Kim
Young Hoon Kim
Young Sung Kim
Yumi Kim
In-Suk Kwak
Won-Kyoung Kwon
Byung-Sang Lee
Chung-hun Lee
Dong-Kyu Lee
Hanna Lee
Heeseung Lee
Hyeon Jeong Lee
Hyungmook Lee
Hyun-Young Lee
Je Jin Lee
Jeong Soo Lee
Sang Hyun Lee
Sangseok Lee
Seung Cheol Lee
Sang-wook Lee
Seung Young Lee
Oh Haeng Lee
Woo Yong Lee
Wonjin Lee
Hyun Kyoung Lim
Hyunyoung Lim
Yun-Hee Lim
Se Hun Lim
Chaeseong Lim
Se-hee Min
Ho Sik Moon
Jee Youn Moon
Hyo-seok Na
Francis Sahngun Nahm
Hee-pyoung Park
Ji-hoon Park
Ji-Hyoung Park
Jong-Yeon Park
Jong Taek Park
Jung Hyun Park
Jun-young Park
Kyeong Eon Park
Sung-Yong Park
Sungchul Park
Yong-hee Park
Yong-Seok Park
Yoo Jung Park
Ho-Geol Ryu
Junghee Ryu
Jeong Hwa Seo
Yon-Hee Shim
Yong Sup Shin
Shin Won-jung Shin
Hye-min Sohn
Ju-Tae Sohn
In-Kyung Song
Jang-Ho Song
Tae-Yun Sung
Jae Hee Woo
Chunwoo Yang
Yongjae Yoo





Jun Hyun Kim has been the associate editor of the Anesthesia and Pain Medicine since 2023, and Hyun Kang has been an editor-in-chief of the Anesthesia and Pain Medicine since 2023. However, they were not involved in the peer reviewer selection, evaluation, or decision process of this article. No other potential conflicts of interest relevant to this article were reported.


Conceptualization: Jun Hyun Kim, Hyun Kang. Writing - original draft: Jun Hyun Kim. Writing - review & editing: Jun Hyun Kim, Hyun Kang. Supervision: Hyun Kang.

Fig. 1.
Number of articles submitted to Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine in 2021 (A) and 2022 (B), according to the author’s country.

Article category

Browse all articles >


Browse all articles >

Editorial Office
101-3503, Lotte Castle President, 109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04146, Korea
Tel: +82-2-792-5128    Fax: +82-2-792-4089    E-mail:                

Copyright © 2024 by Korean Society of Anesthesiologists.

Developed in M2PI

Close layer
prev next