Anesth Pain Med Search


Anesth Pain Med > Volume 19(1); 2024 > Article
Kim and Kang: A message from the Editor-in-Chief and Editorial Board, 2023: journal metrics and statistics, and appreciation to reviewers
In 2023, your journal Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (APM) was newly indexed in SCOPUS and the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). In the realm of anesthesiology, which encompasses perioperative management, critical care, and pain, APM has achieved significant progress, achieved acclaim, and strengthened its standing as a global journal.
We are privileged to hold the positions of Editor-in-Chief and Editorial Board members for APM. The editorial team has been, and remains, dedicated to ensuring the success of this exceptional publication.
Our main goals for APM in the coming years are to a) raise its profile in the clinical and research communities and advance its position as the top journal in this area; b) keep searching for and publishing excellent reviews and original articles that offer the most up-to-date clinical and research information; c) maintain the quality, standard, and transparency of our editorial and review process while fast-tracking our response time to submissions; and d) strengthen regional and global networks to better meet the needs of our society and scientific community.
To achieve these objectives, the APM editorial team will proactively pursue the latest and most captivating research papers and establish communication channels with subsocieties of the Korean Society of Anesthesiologists, members of the Korean Society of Anesthesiologists, and other academics worldwide specializing in this domain.


The APM was first indexed in the Korean Citation Index in 2015 and PubMed Central in December 2020. In 2023, the APMwas newly indexed in SCOPUS and DOAJ and applied to Embase coverage. The annual volume of articles submitted is approximately 100-150, and since 2020, the proportion of overseas submissions has escalated significantly. Currently, more than 60% of articles were from foreign countries. Detailed descriptions of the authors’ countries in 2021, 2022, and 2003 are presented in Fig. 1. The number of countries submitting articles to the APM increased to 11 to 19, since 2021.
The APM articles published in 2021 and 2022 were cited 118 times by Web of Science articles published in 2023 (available from Last accessed: 2024 January 11th). The total number of original articles and reviews published in 2021 and 2022 were 32 and 40, respectively. The manually calculated impact factor for 2023 in the Web of Science was 1.639 (118/[32+40]). The three most cited articles since 2021 are “Trial sequential analysis: novel approach for meta-analysis” by Kang [1] (cited by 54), “Remimazolam: pharmacological characteristics and clinical applications in anesthesiology” by Kim [2] (cited by 45), and “Comparison of postoperative pulmonary complications between sugammadex and neostigmine in lung cancer patients undergoing video-assisted thoracoscopic lobectomy: a prospective double-blinded randomized trial” by Lee et al. [3] (cited by 17).
The CiteScore Tracker 2023 (last updated on January 5th, 2024, available from: Last accessed: 2024 January 11th) calculated by Scopus was 2.2 (509 citations to date/234 documents 2018 to date). The APM has been developed to publish 14 highly qualified reviews, 27 original articles, and 19 other items, including case reports, letters to the editor, and corrigenda in 2023.


The APM editorial team expresses its sincere appreciation to the reviewers who generously dedicated their time to assessing manuscripts. Their contributions were vital for maintaining the integrity of the journal.
The names of the 172 reviewers in 2023 are listed below. The list is in alphabetical order of family names in Korean.
Woon Seok Kang
Hyoseok Kang
Hoon Kang
Jae Chul Koh
Yu gyeong Kong
Mi-Young Kwon
Woojin Kwon
Won-Kyoung Kwon
Kyung Woo Kim
Namo Kim
Dal-ah Kim
Duk Kyung Kim
Deokkyu Kim
Doyeon Kim
Doo Sik Kim
Min Kyoung Kim
Min-soo Kim
Sang Tae Kim
Sang Hun Kim
Seong-Hyop Kim
So Yeon Kim
Seung Hyun Kim
Shin Hyung Kim
Yeon-Dong Kim
Young Sung Kim
Youngsoon Kim
Young Uk Kim
Yong-Suk Kim
Wook Jong Kim
Won-joong Kim
Eunsoo Kim
Eun-hee Kim
Jae hun Kim
Jeongmin Kim
joungmin Kim
Jung Eun Kim
Jong-Yeop Kim
Jonghae Kim
Jun Hyun Kim
Ji Young Kim
Jin-kyoung Kim
Jin-Tae Kim
Tae Kyong Kim
Ha-yeon Kim
Hae-Kyu Kim
Hyungtae Kim
Hye Jin Kim
Hyo-jin Kim
Hee Young Kim
Heezoo Kim
Sungwon Na
Hyo-seok Na
Sun Woo Nam
Wangseok Do
A Ram Doo
Choon-gun Ryu
Kyeong Tae Min
Se-hee Min
Sang Yoong Park
Sang-Jin Park
Soo Jung Park
Yong-hee Park
Jong Taek Park
Jun-young Park
Ji-Hyoung Park
Ji-hoon Park
Hue Jung Park
SeungUk Bang
Si Ra Bang
Jiyoun Bang
Hee-Jung Baik
Gyeong-Jo Byeon
Sung Hye Byun
Kwang Suk Seo
Young-joo Seo
Jeong Hwa Seo
Tae-Yun Sung
Ju-Tae Sohn
Hee-Jeong Son
Seokyoung Song
Young Song
In-Kyung Song
Jong Wook Song
Sang-Wook Shin
Seokyung Shin
Woo Jong Shin
Won-jung Shin
Hwa Yong Shin
Woo-Seok Sim
Eun-Jin Ahn
Chunwoo Yang
Seok Kyeong Oh
Eun Jung Oh
Chahyun Oh
Seong-Ho Ok
Jae Hee Woo
Yongjae Yoo
Jae-Hwa Yoo
Seung Zhoo Yoon
Ji Uk Yoon
Ka Young Rhee
Dong-Kyu Lee
Dongchul Lee
Myeong jong Lee
Sangseok Lee
Sang Hyun Lee
Sun Yeul Lee
Soo Kyung Lee
Soo-hee Lee
Seung Young Lee
Seung Cheol Lee
Ae Ryung Lee
Oh haeng Lee
Wonjin Lee
Yoon Kyung Lee
Jae Hoon Lee
Jeonghan Lee
Je Jin Lee
Jong-Hwan Lee
Jin Young Lee
Cheol Lee
Chung-hun Lee
Hae Jin Lee
Hyeon Jeong Lee
Ho Jin Lee
Heeseung Lee
Junyong In
Se Hun Lim
Chaeseong Lim
Tae-wan Lim
Tae-Ha Lim
Hyun Kyoung Lim
Hyunyoung Lim
Yeon Jang
Chul-Ho Chang
Hae Wone Chang
Younghoon Jeon
Kyoung-Woon Joung
Kum-Hee Chung
Ki Tae Jung
Sung-moon Jeong
Seongtae Jeong
Soon Ho Cheong
WooSuk Chung
Woosuk Chung
Jae Yoon Chung
Jun-Young Chung
Ji Seon Jeong
Chan Jong Chung
Suk Ju Cho
Sung-Ae Cho
Sooyoung Cho
Ah-Reum Cho
Choon-kyu Cho
Han Bum Joe
Young Seok Jee
Yun Jeong Chae
Geun Joo Choi
Dae-kee Choi
Byung Moon Choi
Seong-Soo Choi
Yoon Ji Choi
Eun-Su Choi
Eun Joo Choi
Ji Won Choi
Hey-ran Choi
Sangbin Han
Jiwon Han
Sung Yeon Ham
Boohwi Hong
Byeongmun Hwang
Jung-Won Hwang





Jun Hyun Kim has been the associate editor of the Anesthesia and Pain Medicine since 2023, and Hyun Kang has been an editor-in-chief of the Anesthesia and Pain Medicine since 2023. However, They were not involved in the peer reviewer selection, evaluation, or decision process of this article. No other potential conflicts of interest relevant to this article were reported.


Writing - original draft: Jun Hyun Kim, Hyun Kang. Writing - review & editing: Jun Hyun Kim, Hyun Kang. Conceptualization: Jun Hyun Kim, Hyun Kang. Data curation: Jun Hyun Kim, Hyun Kang. Supervision: Hyun Kang.

Fig. 1.
Number of articles submitted to Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine in 2021, 2022, and 2023 according to the author's country.


1. Kang H. Trial sequential analysis: novel approach for meta-analysis. Anesth Pain Med (Seoul) 2021; 16: 138-50.
crossref pmid pmc pdf
2. Kim KM. Remimazolam: pharmacological characteristics and clinical applications in anesthesiology. Anesth Pain Med (Seoul) 2022; 17: 1-11.
crossref pmid pmc pdf
3. Lee TY, Jeong SY, Jeong JH, Kim JH, Choi SR. Comparison of postoperative pulmonary complications between sugammadex and neostigmine in lung cancer patients undergoing video-assisted thoracoscopic lobectomy: a prospective double-blinded randomized trial. Anesth Pain Med (Seoul) 2021; 16: 60-7.
crossref pmid pmc pdf

Article category

Browse all articles >


Browse all articles >

Editorial Office
101-3503, Lotte Castle President, 109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04146, Korea
Tel: +82-2-792-5128    Fax: +82-2-792-4089    E-mail:                

Copyright © 2024 by Korean Society of Anesthesiologists.

Developed in M2PI

Close layer
prev next